Select Page

I have this ssd that I have partitioned to have several flavour of Linux Mint just for testing the Sardi Icons out.

  1. Linux Mint 17.3 Cinnamon to do some work
  2. Linux Mint 17.3 Cinnamon to do some testing
  3. Linux Mint 17.3 Mate – testing
  4. Linux Mint 17.3 XFCE (still beta now) – testing

How to make them appear back in the right order?

Since I last installed XFCE, this will be the one default to start.  Same applies if you installed a linux version in dual boot with a Windows. Linux will be the one to boot into by default.

Grub Customizer is the solution to change the boot sequence. The easy way.

In order to be in full control of how I boot, what their names are, we will install the grub-customizer tool. It makes changing grub so easy and graphical. Alternative is going to the command-line and typing in commands.

Download and install the grub-customizer tool by typing commands in the terminal window. Line per line.

Open a terminal via menu and look for terminal or use the shortcut CTRL + ALT + T.
In this black screen you copy/paste the code via RIGHT MOUSE CLICK and paste.

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:danielrichter2007/grub-customizer
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install grub-customizer

Contents of the movie

  • changing the names
  • changing the boot order or the separate harddisks (sda1, sda2,…)
  • ordering the lines and folders of “Advanced options for …”

When you boot, you will see the new order you created.